Live Program Sunday to Celebrate WWII Ghost Army Congressional Gold Medal

Online Program to Feature Ghost Army Veterans, Video History

0
1194

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Army veterans, friends, family, and volunteers will gather Sunday, February 13, for a special online program to celebrate the long-overdue award of the Congressional Gold Medal to the Ghost Army, the secret WWII units that used creative deception to fool and distract the enemy on the battlefields of Europe. The public is welcome.

President Biden signed legislation last week awarding the Gold Medal to the Ghost Army, capping off a seven-year grass-roots campaign to recognize these warriors of illusion for their “proficient use of innovative tactics,” credited with saving thousands of lives during the war.

The live online celebration will feature congratulatory messages, a video history of the Gold Medal campaign, surprise guests, and much more. Surviving veterans of the Ghost Army will have a chance to talk personally about the meaning of this long-overdue recognition.

The Congressional Gold Medal is Congress’s utmost expression of national appreciation for distinguished achievements and contributions by individuals or institutions.^ Dating back to the American Revolution, The Congressional Gold Medal is the highest distinction Congress can bestow.

There are just ten surviving Ghost Army veterans scattered throughout the U.S.: Delaware, Florida, Illinois, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, and Utah.

For more information see www.ghostarmylegacyproject.org

  • WHAT: The Ghost Army Congressional Gold Medal Celebration
  • WHEN: Sunday, Feb. 13, at 2 p.m. Eastern/1 PM Central/12 PM Mountain/11 AM Pacific
  • WHERE: Live on YouTube HERE

EDITORIAL DISCLOSURE
All content herein is owned by author exclusively.  Expressed opinions are NOT necessarily the views of VNR, authors, affiliates, advertisers, sponsors, partners, technicians, or VT Network.  Some content may be satirical in nature. 
All images within are full responsibility of the author and NOT VNR.

POLITICAL PARTY POLICY: We intentionally remove all references to political party affiliation when highlighting elected officials.  We believe in judging actions taken by politicians and NOT what party they belong to.  For the same reason, we are also advocates for removing references to political party affiliation on all ballots nationwide.
Read Full Policy Notice - Comment Policy